DealersLatest NewsNewsNews EnewsletterTop Stories

Piaggio Group’s Michele Colaninno named president of ACEM in Europe

Michele Colaninno, chief executive of Global Strategy, Product, Marketing and Innovation of the Piaggio Group (PIA.MI) as well as founder and chair of Piaggio Fast Forward, the U.S. company specializing in robotics, has been appointed President of ACEM (Association des Constructeurs Européens de Motocycles).

ACEM is the European motorcycle industry association based in Brussels, to which all the world motorcycle and scooter groups belong.

(From left) The new leaders of the European motorcycle manufacturers association (ACEM): Eric de Seynes (president of Yamaha Motor Europe N.V.), Stefan Pierer (CEO of KTM AG), Michele Colaninno (chief executive of Piaggio Group) and Markus Schramm (head of BMW Motorrad).

“As new ACEM president, I am very grateful to the other motorcycle manufacturers for trusting the Piaggio Group in this prestigious and challenging role that I will carry out with the greatest commitment,” Colaninno said. “I look forward to working with all members of the association promoting our priorities described in Vision 2030+, the ACEM’s strategy document to respond to future mobility needs in an increasingly sustainable world. As part of this Vision, the European motorcycle industry will keep working to bring innovative and low carbon vehicles to the market, for commuting, leisure and urban mobility.

“Also, as part of Vision 2030+, we will intensify our dialogue with the EU institutions and we will boost industry cooperation in strategic areas, such as connectivity, safety and electrification.”

In addition to his positions in the Piaggio Group, Colaninno is CEO and COO of the Immsi Group, an industrial holding active in the financial, real estate and industrial sectors listed on the Milan Stock Exchange (IMS.MI), with revenues of more than 1.7 billion euro.

Colaninno’s appointment to the presidency of ACEM coincides with the restructuring of the association, which has also named three vice-presidents: Stefan Pierer (CEO of KTM AG), Markus Schramm (head of BMW Motorrad) and Eric de Seynes (president of Yamaha Motor Europe N.V.).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button