Motocross legends to attend MX Rewind at Unadilla

Press release

Fifteen former racing legends, many of whom have International and National Championships to their names, have committed to attend MX Rewind at Unadilla, which is taking place June 1-3.

Returning to Unadilla will be the voice who called all the races in the 1970s and 1980s, Larry Maiers. Maiers will once again be heard as he calls the races of legends and lends his hand as Master of Ceremonies at the various bench racing sessions. Back on the bike, the racing legends will be led by “Bad Brad” Lackey, the first American to win a World Motocross Championship, and Danny LaPorte, who became the second American to win a World Championship, the list of champions is both long and distinguished, and reads like a whose-who of Motocross.

Joining Brad and Danny will be Gunnar Lindstrom, long considered one of the founding members of riders who started Motocross in America during the late 1960’s, as well as Barry Higgins, Gary Jones (250cc National Champion in 1972-1974 and winner of the 1972 Unadilla Trans-AMA), “The Bomber” Mark Barnett (1980-1982 125cc National Champion and member of the 1983 winning U.S. MX and Trophy des Nations team), “Too Tall” Mike Bell, Tony D (1st in the 500cc class in 1975 and 1st in the 250cc class in 1976-1977), Donnie Hansen (member of the historic winning U.S. “B Team” at the 1981 MX and Trophy des Nations and 1982 250cc Champion), New Jersey’s own Mickey Kessler, Gary Semics, Marty Smith (1974 and 1975 125cc National Champion, 1977 500cc National Champion) and New York’s own Jimmy “The Jammer” Weinert (1974 and 1975 500cc National Champion).

From the more recent era of the 1980’s and 1990’s, we have Jeff Stanton (member of the winning U.S. MX des Nations teams in 1989,1990, and 1991, 250cc National Champion in 1989, 1990, and 1992, and winner of the Unadilla 250cc USGP in 1990,1991, and 1992) and “The Dogger” Ron Lechien, who was a member of the winning U.S. team at the 1985 and 1988 MX des Nations and 1985 125cc National Champion, as well as winner of the 1984 USGP at Unadilla.

Joining the prominent list of racing champions is legendary film producer Todd Huffman. Todd continues to make an extraordinary contribution to the preservation of MX racing history through his impressive documentary series, The Motocross Files.

“We are very excited and amazed at the response. To have this impressive and formidable list of former racers joining us for the inaugural MX Rewind weekend is unbelieveable”, states Unadilla’s Greg Robinson. “For those of us who grew up going to the track to watch these heroes back in the day, this is like a dream come true. They represent four decades of motocross racing history from back in the early days, to the beginning of the American domination of the MX des Nations. To have America’s first two World Champions here on the 30th Anniversary of their championship runs, and four members of winning American MX des Nations teams, is simply unprecedented. It is a wonderful opportunity for fans of motocross both young and old to hear from and celebrate this great sport of ours. Those in attendance will be blown away by the access they have to these legends and what they have to say.”

All of the legends plus Huffman will be in attendance from Friday through Sunday taking part in a variety of meet and greet opportunities, a Saturday and Sunday vintage and post vintage champions race, racer awards ceremonies, and a Saturday night Dinner of Champions.

Advance sale tickets, camping passes, and event information can be found at: .

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button