FeaturesIn this issue

Lawmakers awarded for support of rights, issues

Forty-two members of the 113th Congress were honored on April 28 by the American Motorcyclist Association for their support of motorcyclists’ rights and issues of importance
to motorcycling.

“These lawmakers have demonstrated an interest in and support for the issues that most directly affect the motorcycling community, and we take great pleasure in honoring them for their efforts,” said Wayne Allard, AMA vice president for government relations and a former U.S. senator and U.S. representative from Colorado.

U.S. Rep. Tim Walberg (R-Mich.), former Arkansas Rep. and current Arkansas Lt. Gov. Tim Griffin (R), and Sens. Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) and Joe Manchin III (D-W.Va.) were recognized as AMA Heroes.

“Hero” awards are presented for extraordinary efforts to support motorcyclists and motorcycling.

These four scored highest in the AMA’s rankings on issues affecting motorcyclists, and each legislator assumed a leadership role.

Walberg opposed the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s mission creep into motorcycle safety. Griffin co-chaired the Congressional Motorcycle Caucus and was an outspoken motorcycling advocate, hosting the first ever “Ridin’ with your Rep” town hall meeting. Shaheen led the effort to ban the use of federal funds for motorcycle-only checkpoints and supported the Recreational Trails Program. Manchin — also a rider — tied for the highest score in the Senate and has been a staunch supporter of motorcyclists’ rights for years.

The AMA also recognized 15 “Champions” for outstanding efforts to motorcyclists and motorcycling. Another 23 lawmakers received “Supporter” awards for their positions on motorcycling issues.

The AMA “Champions” are Rep. Dan Benishek (R-Mich.), Rep. Andy Harris (R-Md.), Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Rep. Rob Bishop (R-Utah), Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine), Sen. Chris Coons (D-Delaware), Rep. Rick Crawford (R-Ark.), Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.), Rep. Walter Jones (R-N.C.), Rep. Mike Kelly (R-Pa.), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Rep. Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.), Rep. Joe Wilson (R-S.C.) and Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Oregon).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button