Motorcycle Design Awards, 2004

The Motorcycle Design Association (MDA), based in Villefranche de Lonchat, France, held its annual Motorcycle Design Awards at INTERMOT in Munich.
The jury, made of more than 100 members of the MDA – nearly all motorcycle designers still active in their profession – voted on five categories, plus one outstanding model for the annual Motorcycle Design Trophy. MDA President Glynn Kerr chaired the event.
Supersport Category – 1) Bimota DB5, 2 ) Kawasaki ZX-6, 3) BMW K1200S.
Open Category (200cc and above) – 1) KTM RC8 / Venom, 2) Yamaha MT-01, 3) Benelli TNT and Derbi Mulhacén (tie)
Junior Category (up to 200cc) – 1) Rieju RS2 Matrix, 2) Yamaha XT125, 3) Derbi SM.
Scooter & Commuter Category – 1) Derbi GP1, 2) Aprilia Sport City, 3) Honda Zoomer and Generic XDR (tie)
Concept Bike Category – 1) Honda Griffon, 2) Confederate Wraith, 3) Yamaha Tricker Pro.
The Yamaha MT-01 was the winner of the 2004 Motorcycle Design Trophy. Presented to Atsushi Ishiyama, President of GK Dynamics, it was Yamaha’s second Motorcycle Design Trophy in two years – Yamaha YZF 1000 R1 designer Kazumasa Sasanami of GK Design Europe received the 2003 Motorcycle Design Trophy.
Ishiyama, who joined GK Design Group in 1964, also was bestowed Honorary Membership of the MDA for his four decades of work during which he created a number of successful Yamaha models and prototype proposals.
Past recipients of the Honorary Membership Award include Mitsuyoshi Kohama, head of Honda’s design center in Japan, 2003; Harley-Davidson icon Willie G. Davidson, 2002; and Massimo Tamburini, joint-founder of Bimota and designer of the Ducati 916 and MV Agusta F4, 2001.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button