Derek ‘Nobby’ Clark back in the AMA Hall of Fame with supplemental vote

Derek ‘Nobby’ Clark will be inducted into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame on Nov. 16 with the rest of the 2012 class, following a supplemental vote supporting Clark.

Clark was a world-leading mechanic who was part of 17 FIM Grand Prix world championships from 50cc-500cc classes. His teams also won three Daytona 200s, one Daytona 100, four Imola 200s and eight Italian championships. He has worked with a number of greats, including fellow Hall of Famers Mike Hailwood, Giacomo Agostini and Kenny Roberts.

“Derek ‘Nobby’ Clark stands shoulder-to-shoulder with roadracing’s most enduring legends, and played a key role in successes that will go down in history among the greatest of the sport,” said Jeffrey V. Heininger, chairman of the AMHF. “It’s time for Mr. Clark to take his rightful place among the many legends who embody the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame.”

Clark had previously been announced as a member of this year’s Hall of Fame class, but his induction was rescinded after an error was discovered in the voting process. The American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation then called for a supplemental vote to see if Clark should, in fact, be inducted.

“It certainly was a surprise,” Clark said of the supplemental vote result. “I’m very excited, and I’m looking forward to being in Las Vegas for the induction ceremony and seeing my old friends. I haven’t seen quite a few of them for quite awhile, so it’s going to be like a family reunion.”

The supplemental vote was tallied by independent voting service Votenet, and accounting firm Plate Moran independently audited the results.

“The members of the AMHF Board of Directors extend our sincerest apologies to Mr. Clark for the mistakes that invalidated his original ballot,” Heininger said. “By way of this supplemental vote, we’ve ensured that Mr. Clark’s induction took place with the utmost sincerity and that no one can question his inclusion in the Motorcycle Hall of Fame.”

Clark will join the late Rod Bush, KTM North America president and industry visionary; pioneering female motocrosser Sue Fish; 1975 AMA Supercross Champion Jimmy Ellis; world-class bike restorer Brian Slark; the late Al Wilcox, iconic race starter; and off-road racing legend Ty Davis in the 2012 Hall of Fame class. Previously inducted Hall of Famers Malcolm Smith and Mert Lawwill will also be honored at the AMA Legends Weekend Nov. 16-17 in Las Vegas.

Tickets for the event can be purchased here.

Related Articles

One Comment

  1. we need major changes at AMA. need new management. need changes in the dirt track racing program before it is lost. numbers are down at all of the events. lets say good bye to dingbat and company.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button