NOHVCC Holds Annual Conference

More than 150 people from 33 states attended the annual National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council (NOHVCC) Conference in Alabama last month to take part in seminars, training programs and awards ceremonies.
The NOHVCC Board of Directors meeting - held twice each year - ended with the election of a new secretary, a new treasurer, and the resignation of a director.
Bill Kaeppner (Ohio) was elected to replace outgoing at-large member Brian Sears (N.C.), while Tom Umphress (Minn.) was elected to the position of Secretary. Steve Gunderson (Idaho), who had been serving as BOD Secretary for several years, took over the position of Treasurer, and Director Brian Sears (N.C.) announced his resignation.
During the annual awards ceremony, NOHVCC Land Manager of the Year awards went to Colorado resident Jim Cooper and Rick Schuler of Wyoming. Cooper was instrumental in increasing Colorado's riding opportunities considerably during the past year while Schuler developed a youth OHV education display and program based on the NOHVCC Adventure Trail concept.
The NOHVCC Association of the Year went to Carol Smith and Bobby Beamer from the Texas Motorized Trail Coalition (TMTC), honored for its work in the development of a new OHV park on private lands, and inaugural NOHVCC Hall of Fame inductees included Jim Pilon, Paul Slavik, Steve Gunderson, Tom Crimmins, Bill Chapin and Ron Morganthaler, all of whom are the longest-serving NOHVCC members.
Richard Goudarzi (N.H.) took home the NOHVCC State Representative of the Year Award, given for his efforts in the Granite State, and Alex Bub (Wisc.), Bill Kaeppner (Ohio) and Harold Soens (Calif.) received the Never, Never, Never Quitting Award for their work as OHV activists. Sadly, Soens passed away suddenly at his home in California just days after receiving his award.
The next NOHVCC Board meeting takes place in Pennsylvania in September.

  • To return to the current issue, click here.
  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *