Hall of Fame Museum Announces Class of 2005

The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, home of the nation's Hall of Fame honoring American motorcycling's legendary racers, inventors, promoters, designers, enthusiasts and journalists, has announced nine new members for 2005 induction. The annual Hall of Fame weekend, highlighted by a special Museum reception, a Concours d'Elegance and the popular induction ceremonies, is scheduled to take place October 7-8, 2005, on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio.
The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2005 includes:
Ralph Berndt, Harley-Davidson tuner from 1957 to 1967; Jerry Branch, Master tuner of Harley-Davidson motors for AMA Grand National Dirt Track racing as well as stock based engines for the street ; Tom Cates, General Manager for K&N Engineering, established several long distance records at Daytona in 1969; Tom Christenson, last successful campaigner of Norton drag bikes in the U.S.; Doug Henry, AMA Motocross and Supercross Champion; Bill Johnson, first U.S. importer and distributor of Triumph and Ariel motorcycles; Nick Nicholson, competitor and sponsor of Catalina Grand Prix, desert races, trials competition, scrambles, flat track and road racing; Scott Russell, first five-time winner of the Daytona 200; and Gavin Trippe, legendary promoter of virtually every type of racing.
The weekend honoring the Class of 2005 begins with an evening reception at the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum on October 7. Festivities continue on October 8 with the fourth annual invitation-only Concours d'Elegance featuring over 100 rare vintage motorcycles. The Hall of Fame weekend concludes with the induction dinner and ceremonies Saturday evening. Attendance to all events is open to the public with reservations required for the Museum reception and the induction.

  • To return to the current issue, click here.
  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *