NewsNews EnewsletterTop Stories

Flat track popularity leads to record-setting viewership

American Flat Track has already set a viewership record during 2018, and the season’s not over yet.

AFT has had a total of more than 2 million viewers tuning in to watch this year’s premiere telecasts on NBCSN.

The 2 million number, generated with five weekend telecasts remaining in the 2018 schedule heading into Labor Day weekend, represents a significant viewership increase over the 1.8 million viewers that watched AFT on NBCSN telecasts during all of 2017.

On average, telecasts on NBCSN are reaching 56 percent more viewers in 2018 than in 2017. This year’s shows have also introduced new and younger fans to the sport, resulting in a 50 percent increase in viewership in the key 24-years-and-younger demographic.

“American Flat Track’s partnership with NBC Sports has been the catalyst for our sport to break through to a whole new generation of fans across the country,” said Michael Lock, CEO of American Flat Track. “The extraordinary growth in viewership is testament to the exciting bar-to-bar action taking place at iconic racetracks almost every weekend through the spring and summer. We are very proud of our competitors and our series.”

American Flat Track’s digital/live streaming numbers have also gone through the roof. FansChoice.tv viewership has seen triple-digit gains, with an average of more than 30,000 unique viewers tuning in to each event. This represents an increase of 109 percent over 2017’s average unique viewers on FansChoice.tv.

Next up for American Flat Track fans on FansChoice.tv:

  • Williams Grove Half-Mile: September 8 at 3:30 pm ET (12:30 pm PT)
  • Minnesota Mile: September 29 at 3:00 pm ET (12 pm PT)
  • Meadowlands Mile: October 6 at 2:45 pm ET (11:45 am PT)

Next up for American Flat Track fans on NBCSN:

  • Williams Grove Half-Mile: September 23 at 5:00 pm ET (2 pm PT)
  •      Minnesota Mile: October 14 at 5:00 pm ET (2 pm PT)
  • Meadowlands Mile: October 21 at 2:00 pm ET (11 am PT)

 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button