U.S. team wins FIM Motocross of Nations

The U.S. team of Ryan Dungey, Ryan Villopoto and Blake Baggett won the 2011 FIm Motocross of Nations at Saint Jean D’Angely, France, on Sunday, bringing the U.S. its seventh consecutive victory and 22nd overall win, the American Motorcyclist Association announced.

The Motocross of Nations features three-rider teams on a range of motocross vehicles. Teams compete by nationality, and the overall championship is determined by a combined score of the three riders. The U.S. has the most wins in the event, which was launched in 1947.

“Once more the U.S. team has demonstrated that America is a motocross nation. The AMA congratulates riders Ryan Dungey, Ryan Villopoto and Blake Baggett and team manager Roger DeCoster for another outstanding performance against the world’s best,” AMA president and CEO Rob Dingman said. “In addition, we want to extend our gratitude to the mechanics, support crew and others who made this victory possible. Also, sponsors such as Feld Motor Sports, which promotes the Monster Energy AMA Supercross and FIM World Championship, Fox Racing, Alpinestars and the Asterisk Mobile Medical Center were integral to our success. We also must recognize the contributions of MX Sports Pro Racing, which promotes the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, as well as the riders’ teams – Monster Energy Kawasaki, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki and Rockstar Makita Suzuki – for providing the additional support necessary for this event.”

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button