BRP reveals Formula One trophies

BRP designers revealed their winning trophy design on Sunday for the 2011 Formula One Grand Prix du Canada.

Designers André Côté, Ivan Brousseau and Steve Tétreault won an international competition within BRP’s Design and Innovation Group. The three are on the Sea-Doo and Ski-Doo design team, which develops designs for boats, PWC and snowmobiles.

“This opportunity to work on a completely different project forced us out of our comfort zone,” Denys Lapointe, BRP’s executive vice-president of design & innovation, said in a press release. “While our mandate is to create the recreational vehicles of the future, changing focus was challenging, stimulating and so rewarding for my team.”

BRP was chosen to design the trophy by Octane Racing Group because of its reputation for design excellence. BRP and Octane representatives then selected two contenders from six design proposals from several teams. The concepts were judged on originality, strength of symbol and feasibility, while assuring they respected F1 trophy guidelines. The final selection was chosen by the management of the Grand Prix du Canada with F1 officials. It was inspired by local artistic, cultural and technological landmarks, as well as the form and color of Canada’s emblem.

“It has been a great experience to work with BRP design group on this great project. Joining forces with the creative minds assembled in Valcourt by Denys Lapointe has been very productive,” said François DumontierJenson Button, who won the race Sunday in Montreal.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.
  • To see the contents of the current print issue of PSB, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button