Home » Uncategorized » San Jose BMW Wins Inaugural 8 Hours At Daytona

San Jose BMW Wins Inaugural 8 Hours At Daytona

San Jose BMW's race team made history at Daytona International Speedway October 21 by winning the inaugural 8 Hours At Daytona, the first event in the new SunTrust MOTO-ST (Moto Sport Twins) Series.
Riding a BMW R1200, Brian Parriott, Calistoga, Calif., Belgian Stephane Mertens and Nate Kern of Cherry Hill, N.J. took the victory flag 14.86 seconds in front of the EMGO Suzuki SV1000S piloted by Michael Barnes of Boca Raton, Fla., Geoff May of Gainesville, Ga. and Chris Ulrich of Lake Elsinore, Calif.
The San Jose BMW team completed 228 laps of the 3.56-mile Daytona International Speedway road course.
Announced as a series in March during Bike Week, MOTO-ST specializes in long-distance team racing, is organized by Professional Motorsports Productions of Toronto, Ontario, Canada, and is sanctioned by the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) of Pickerington, Ohio. The Grand American Road Racing Association, based in Daytona Beach, Fla., provides the series with administrative and commercial support.
Pirelli has been named as the sole supplier of SunTrust MOTO-ST tires for the inaugural 8 Hours At Daytona as well as the first full season of competition in 2007. All competitors will use Sunoco GT unleaded fuel. Horsepower limits are enforced by a Dynojet chassis dynamometer.
The 2007 National Championship schedule for MOTO-ST will consist of up to six points-paying endurance races.

  • To return to the current issue, click here.
  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *