North Carolina has announced a statewide ATV safety blitz involving Safe Kids North Carolina, where volunteers across the state will coordinate efforts to educate parents and caregivers about North Carolina's recent ATV legislation, which introduces safety requirements for children riding ATVs.
Initial efforts call for the distribution of more than 400,000 educational cards explaining what parents need to know about which size ATVs are appropriate for children and general ATV safety will be distributed.
The ATV law (S.L. 2005-282), passed last December, mandates safety precautions and size limitations for youth riders. The law, in summary, requires:
- Children must be at least 8 years old to legally operate an ATV. They must also ride the ATV that is appropriately sized for their age. (8 to 11-year-olds - under 70cc engine; 12 to 15-year-olds - 70 to 90cc engine; 16-year-olds and older - over 90cc engine)
- Children under 18 must be continuously supervised by an adult while riding an ATV.
- No rider may carry a passenger, except on machines specifically designed to do so.
- Riders must wear helmets and face protection.
- ATVs may not be operated on public streets, roads or highways, except for purposes of crossing.
- Effective Oct. 1, all riders born on or after Jan. 1, 1990, must posses a safety certificate indicating successful completion of an ATV safety course sponsored or approved by the ATV Safety Institute.
- Noncompliance is subject to a fine of $200; however, the law does not apply to the operation of ATVs when used for farm purposes or for hunting or trapping.
Copyright 2006 Powersports Business